Twiggy Takes Home Top Gong at the WGSN Global Fashion Awards 2015

Tonight was the WGSN Global Fashion Awards and as a partner, The Industry went along to watch some of fashion’s most reputable names – including Twiggy, and Sophia Webster accept their awards designed by no other than our very own, Sarah Angold.

Held at The Park Lane Hotel in London, the fifth annual event was a star-studded affair hosted by Radio 1 DJ and London Collections: Men ambassador, Nick Grimshaw. A slew of celebrities and fashion industry heavyweights turned out to celebrate the winning names including Laura Whitmore, Zara Martin, Lilah Parsons, Tanya Burr, Jim Chapman and Amber Le Bon.


BBC Radio 1 DJ, Nick Grimshaw comperes the WGSN Global Fashion Awards - photographed with fashion blogger, Ella Catliff
BBC Radio 1 DJ, Nick Grimshaw comperes the WGSN Global Fashion Awards – photographed with fashion blogger, Ella Catliff

Renowned model and face of the sixties, Twiggy accepted her Hall of Fame Icon Award, joining the likes of Rankin and Burberry CEO, Christopher Bailey who have picked up the title in previous years. “She still has as much relevance within the fashion industry having been made the face of Marks & Spencer for nearly a decade and being one of the leading voices on women’s for women in their 60s and 70s,” said founder and director of the awards – and long-serving Industry advisor – Lauretta Roberts of the choice.


WGSN Global Fashion Awards 2015 - Inside
Founder and director of the ceremony, Lauretta Roberts (a member of The Industry) with star of the night, Twiggy

Renowned fashion industry critic, Colin McDowell was also added into the Hall of Fame this year. “In a world where informed fashion critique can be lost among the millions of social media posts, Colin’s skill and insight should be cherished and celebrated more than ever,” added Lauretta.


WGSN Global Fashion Awards 2015 - Inside
Colin McDowell clutches his award with Sarah Angold – a member of The Industry and designer of the trophies

Members in attendance included managing director of The Industry Courtney Blackman (also an advisor and judge to the awards), Caroline Issa who presented an award, fashion and celebrity stylist Rebekah Roy, legendary fashion business consultant Frances Card, illustrator and author Daisy de Villeneuve, editor-in-chief of Candid Magazine Joshua White, Caroline Burstein of Browns, publishing legend Terry Mansfield, AEVHA London handbag designer Alice Horlick, face of Fashion One Television Stefanie Jones, editor of Fashion Monitor, Sarah Penny, jewellery designer Sarah Angold and Hannah White, global head of department, creative services at Avery Dennison.


Courtney Blackman GFA 2015
The Industry’s managing director and advisor to the WGSN Global Fashion Awards, Courtney Blackman
Stefanie Jones & Alice Horlick GFA 2015
Industry members, Stefanie Jones of Fashion One TV and AEVHA London’s Alice Horlick

For the full winners list, see below:

Avery Dennison RBIS Emerging Brand: Marques Almeida

Breakthrough Menswear Designer: Agape Mdumulla and Sam Cotton, Agi & Sam

Catrice Cosmetics Breakthrough Womenswear Designer: Barbara Casasola

Breakthrough Footwear & Accessories Designer: Sophia Webster

Lycra® Future Designers Award: Natália Vechiatto Feitoza e Silva

Design Collaboration: H&M x Alexander Wang

Footwear & Accessories Design: House of Holland Eyewear

Intimates/Swimwear Design: Hope Lingerie, Gisele Bündchen Intimates

Children’s Trust Kidswear Design: Peter Alexander

Menswear Design: Tiger of Sweden

Meryl® Sport/Activewear Design: Polartec

Multi-Brand Offer: S*uce

Sustainable Design: Rambler

Womenswear Design: Equipment

ISKO Denim Design: Diesel

Equinox Best Digital Innovation: Primania, Primark

Best New Retail Concept: Houston Flagship, Kate Spade New York 18. Best Store: Level Shoe District

Best e-store (Pure Play): Farfetch

Hall of Fame: Outstanding Achievement: Colin McDowell

Hall of Fame: Icon: Twiggy



To see more pictures of members at the WGSN Global Fashion Awards 2015, click here.