Follow us


The Fashion Awards 2017 winners revealed

Lauretta Roberts
05 December 2017

British designer Jonathan Anderson once again walked away with two trophies at The Fashion Awards, which took place at the Royal Albert Hall last night. Other notable winners at what was the most star-studded ceremony to date included Burberry's outgoing president and chief creative officer Christopher Bailey who was given a surprise award for his contribution to British fashion while overall designer of the year went to Calvin Klein's Raf Simons, who collected his award from Oliver Sim.

The continued dominance of Gucci was recognised with a Business Leader award for its CEO Marco Bizzarri, while there were also honorary awards for Dior's Maria Grazia Chiuri, make-up artist Pat McGrath, Donatella Versace and Stella McCartney. Recently departed design legend Azzedine Alaia was recognised with a special tribute led by Naomi Campbell.

Last night's ceremony also marked something of a swan song for British Fashion Council chairman Dame Natalie Massenet, founder of and now non-executive co-chairman of Farfetch, who stands down from the BFC at the end of the year after five years at the helm.

During her tenure Massenet transformed the BFC-organised Fashion Awards into an international event that also serves as a fundraiser for the BFC Education Foundation, with the support of principal sponsor Swarovski. Last night's event was attended by 4,000 individuals from fashion and entertainment, along with students and members of the public.

Notable attendees included: Adrian Joffe, Adwoa Aboah, Alexa Chung, Christopher Bailey MBE, Connor McGregor, Donatella Versace, Edward Enninful OBE, Erykah Badu, Eva Herzigova, Hailey Baldwin, Hilary Swank, Kaia Gerber, Imaan Hammam, Lewis Hamilton, Maisie Williams, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Dame Anna Wintour, Naomi Campbell, Paris Jackson, Pat McGrath MBE, Pink, Raf Simons, Rita Ora, Sam Smith, Selena Gomez, Stella McCartney, Stella Maxwell, Stormzy, Winnie Harlow, Zadie Smith and Zendaya.

The full list of winners and presenters were as follows:

Accessories Designer of the Year:

Jonathan Anderson for Loewe

Presented by Amber Valletta

Business Leader:

Marco Bizzarri for Gucci

Presented by Annie Lennox & Massimo Bottura

Swarovski Award for Positive Change:

Maria Grazia Chiuri

Presented by Bianca Jagger

Model of the Year:

Adwoa Aboah

Presented by Erykah Badu & Loyle Carner

Urban Luxe:


Presented by Hailey Baldwin

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator:

Pat McGrath MBE

Presented by Eva Herzigova

British Emerging Talent Menswear:

Charles Jeffrey for Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY

Presented by John Galliano CBE

British Emerging Talent Womenswear:

Michael Halpern for Halpern

Presented by Pamela Anderson

Outstanding Contribution to British Fashion:

Christopher Bailey MBE

Presented by Dame Anna Wintour

Special Recognition Award for Innovation:

Stella McCartney OBE

Presented by Sir James Dyson

British Designer of the Year Menswear:

Craig Green for CRAIG GREEN

Presented by FKA Twigs

British Designer of the Year Womenswear:

Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson

Presented by Zandaya

Fashion Icon:

Donatella Versace for Versace

Performance by Rita Ora

Presented by Naomi Campbell

Designer of the Year:

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Presented by Oliver Sim


Free NewsletterVISIT