Shortlist unveiled for the 10th Olympus Pen Scottish Fashion Awards

Scottish supermodels, brands and textile manufacturers have all received nods in the nominee list for the 10th Olympus Pen Scottish Fashion Awards, which will be presented at gala event in London on 3 September.

The brainchild of Dr Tessa Hartmann, these awards have been a high-profile platform for some of Scotland’s most outstanding talent with previous winners including Christopher Kane, Jonathan Saunders, Vivienne Westwood (pictured above with Tessa Hartmann) and photographer Rankin.

This year’s winners will be announced at a “Highland Gathering” at the Corinthia Hotel in London, co-hosted by the RT Hon David Mundell MP Secretary of State for Scotland and Tessa Hartmann, along with TV personality Laura Whitmore.

“We’re having a gala party this year to showcase the incredible Scottish fashion, design and textile talent we have working in Scotland and around the world. There will be DJs and a club décor will replace the formality of banqueting tables. Once the awards are presented the celebrations will begin and as you know we Scots do love to throw a good party,” said Tessa Hartmann.

A prestigious line-up of judges includes: Katie Grand – LOVE editor-in-chief, supermodel – Stella Tennant, Caroline Rush CBE – Chief Executive of The British Fashion Council, Sara Maino – Head of New Talent, Italian Vogue, Mickey Boardman – Editorial Director, Paper Magazine (NYC), Jo Elvin – Editor, Glamour, Justine Picardie – Editor-in-Chief, Harpers Bazaar, Natasha Pearlman – Editor, Grazia, Jane Bruton – Deputy Editor & Lifestyle Director The Daily Telegraph, Jessica Bumpus – Fashion Features Editor and Colin McDowell MBE. (See full judging panel here).

The shortlist in full:

Scottish Designer of the Year

  • Holly Fulton
  • Christopher Kane
  • Jonathan Saunders
  • Kestin Hare
  • Patrick Grant for E. Tautz

Scottish Textile Brand / Manufacturer of the Year

  • Robert Noble
  • ESK
  • Barrie Knitwear
  • Edition Scotland
  • Brora

Communicator of the Year

  • Lynsey Alexander – Make Up Artist
  • Trish Ward – Photographer
  • Gordon J Miller – Scot Street Style
  • Stewart Bryden – Photographer
  • Lindsay Macpherson – Fashion Features Editor, Harrods Magazine

Scottish Young Designer of the Year

  • Le Kilt
  • Cats Brothers
  • Mairi McDonald
  • Emily Millichip
  • Kelly Dawn Riot

Scottish Fashion Graduate of the Year

  • Rachael Eustace (EdinburghCollege of Art)
  • Melissa Villevieille (EdinburghCollege of Art)
  • Jonathan Douglas (GlasgowSchool of Art)
  • Charles Jeffrey (Central St.Martins)
  • Ryan Cowie (Gray’s School of Art, Robert Gordon University)

Scottish Retailer of the Year

  • Walker Slater

Scottish Model of the Year

  • Misha Hart (Viva London)
  • Paul Carrigan (Storm / Model Team)
  • Jean Campbell (Viva London)
  • Eilie Bennett (Next Management Miami)

Scottish Accessory Designer of the Year

  • Strathberry of Scotland
  • Karen Mabon
  • Hunter Boots
  • Finlay & Co

Luxury Retailer of the Year

  • Harvey Nichols (Edinburgh)
  • Watches of Switzerland (Glasgow)
  • Belstaff (Glasgow)
  • Burberry (Edinburgh)
  • Emporio Armani (Glasgow)

International Designer (for best use of Scottish fabric)

  • Kate Spade New York
  • Moschino
  • Topman
  • I’M Isola Marras

(Hall of Fame, Founders Award, Fashion Ambassador, Fashion Philanthropist and Fashion Icon will be presented on the night.)