Follow us


GQ editor, Farfetch founder and GMG CEO join board of British Fashion Council

Lauretta Roberts
12 July 2016

The British Fashion Council has strengthened its executive board with three new appointments. British GQ editor Dylan Jones, Farfetch founder José Neves and Guardian Media Group chief executive David Pemsel have all taken seats at the top table.

Dame Natalie Massenet, chair of the British Fashion Council, said all three brought valuable experience to the board and were "strategic appointments", "Dylan as the voice of menswear, an area of significant growth; David for his expertise in building international audiences through digital platforms and José a tech entrepreneur and retail disrupter," Massenet said.

The board of the British Fashion Council, which owns London Fashion Week and London Collections Mens (soon to be London Fashion Week Mens) also comprises Massenet, chief executive Caroline Rush CBE and British designer Anya Hindmarch MBE (who is non-executive director).

Jones, who is also chairman of London Fashion Week Mens, said: "I have seen the British fashion industry grow year on year, confirming its place as one of the fashion capitals of the world. I look forward to continuing this growth alongside the board and ensuring London is not only known as the home of the best creative talent but also the place for fashion businesses to grow."

Neves, who founded Farfetch in 2007 which is one of the UK's most successful ecommerce businesses, said he was "honoured and humbled" to join the board. "I have witnessed the tremendous evolution of British fashion and, as a designer and then as a technology entrepreneur I experienced both the transformational role of the BFC and its unparalleled leadership," he said.

GMG's Pemsel said he looked forward "to working with the talented board to ensure the creativity of the British fashion industry is championed across the globe."

The British Fashion Council appointed its first executive board in 2009. The executive board briefs an advisory board of industry patrons, partners, media and educators. Massenet was appointed chair in 2013 and in turn appointed presidents of the organisation’s "strategic pillars". The initial presidents were Sarah Mower and Meribeth Parker, Education; Sophia Neophitou, Reputation; Jonathan Goodwin, Investment; James McArthur, Business; and Peter Fitzgerald, Innovation and Digital.

Sian Westerman, Senior Advisor, Rothschild Global Advisory has now succeeded Jonathan Goodwin and James McArthur to become president of both the Investment and Business strategic pillars.

Free NewsletterVISIT