Follow us


Browns partners with British Fashion Council to support NEWGEN

Lauretta Roberts
04 December 2018

Luxury retailer Browns, which has a history of supporting emerging designers, has partnered with the British Fashion Council (BFC) to support its talent identification and support programme NEWGEN.

The scheme. which has provided the launchpad for many of today's most successful designers, offers financial support, showcasing opportunities and the time and support to hone in on critical business skills to enable designers to futureproof their businesses.

Browns joins the line-up of many NEWGEN supporters helping to fund the scheme, sitting on the NEWGEN judging panel and providing key business and retail expertise through mentoring programmes.

Caroline Rush, CEO British Fashion Council commented: “I am delighted to welcome Browns as one of the partners of NEWGEN and look forward to working together, benefitting from their many years of expertise and reputation as a home for new talent; to help support our exceptional NEWGEN designers to build their labels into future international brands.”

Browns CEO Holli Rogers added: "We are thrilled to be partnering with the BFC on NEWGEN and upholding the Browns legacy of championing new talent and innovation. Through partnerships like this, we will continue to demonstrate the Browns ethos and we look forward to working closely with the BFC and the designers to build out meaningful initiatives with support and mentorship at the heart."

Browns was founded in London in 1970 by Joan Burstein, known affectionately in the industry as Mrs B. It was the first retailer to introduce brands such as Ralph Lauren and Calvin Klein to the UK and is credited with launching the careers of Alexander McQueen and John Galliano.

Owned by online luxury group Farfetch since 2015, Browns currently has two boutiques in London – iconic South Molton Street and Browns East in Shoreditch which opened in October 2017.

NEWGEN has supported some of British fashion's most successful designers such as Christopher Kane, Erdem, Mary Katrantzou, Nicholas Kirkwood, Peter Pilotto and Sophia Webster.

2018/19 NEWGEN recipients are; A-COLD-WALL*, Alighieri, Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY, Halpern, ISOSCELES Lingerie, Kiko Kostadinov, Liam Hodges, Matty Bovan, Nicholas Daley, Paula Knorr, Per Götesson, Phoebe English, Richard Malone, Richard Quinn, Supriya Lele, The Season Hats, WALES BONNER & NEWGEN ONES TO WATCH; Bianca Saunders & paria/ FARZANEH.

Free NewsletterVISIT