Follow us


British Fashion Council announces nominees for The Fashion Awards 2017

Lauretta Roberts
23 October 2017

The British Fashion Council (BFC) announced the nominees for The Fashion Awards today with the list covering business leaders such as Farfetch founder José Neves and founders Tom and Ruth Chapman to a wealth of global design talent including Jonathan Anderson (who received four nods) and Gucci's Alessandro Michele, who is shortlisted in two categories.

Nominees were revealed in a press call at Soho House, 76 Dean Street, London where they were presented in a video created by Robin Derrick and Spring Studios, which was introduced by Dame Natalie Massenet, chairman of the BFC, Nadja Swarovski, Member of the Swarovski Executive Board (and principal sponsor of the event) and Caroline Rush, BFC CEO.

“I would like to congratulate all the nominees of The Fashion Awards 2017 in partnership with Swarovski. These designers and brands were chosen from hundreds of international names and they represent the most creative talent and innovative businesses of the year. I am thrilled to be welcoming them to London on 4 December at the Royal Albert Hall to celebrate their incredible achievements, alongside industry friends from the world over," Massenet said.

The full list of nominees are:

British Emerging Talent - Menswear
Ben Cottrell and Matthew Dainty for Cottweiler
Charles Jeffrey for Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY
Henry Holland for House of Holland
Phoebe English for Phoebe English MAN
Samuel Ross for A-COLD-WALL*

British Emerging Talent - Womenswear
Faustine Steinmetz for Faustine Steinmetz
Matty Bovan for Matty Bovan
Michael Halpern for Halpern
Natalia Alaverdian for A.W.A.K.E
Rejina Pyo for Rejina Pyo

Business Leader
Adrian Joffe for Dover Street Market
Guram Gvasalia for Vetements
José Neves for Farfetch
Marco Bizzarri for Gucci
Ruth & Tom Chapman for

Model of the Year
Adwoa Aboah
Bella Hadid
Gigi Hadid
Kaia Gerber
Winnie Harlow

Urban Luxe Brand
FENTY PUMA by Rihanna
Gosha Rubchinskiy

Accessories Designer of the Year
Alessandro Michele for Gucci
Anthony Vaccarello for Saint Laurent
Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Stuart Vevers for Coach

British Designer of the Year - Menswear
Christopher Bailey MBE for Burberry
Craig Green for Craig Green
Grace Wales Bonner for WALES BONNER
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson
Martine Rose for Martine Rose

British Designer of the Year - Womenswear
Christopher Kane for Christopher Kane
Erdem Moralioglu for Erdem
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson
Roksanda Ilincic for Roksanda
Sarah Burton OBE for Alexander McQueen

Designer of the Year
Alessandro Michele for Gucci
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Maria Grazia Chiuri for Dior
Phoebe Philo for Céline
Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

The event, which acts as a fundraiser for the BFC Education Foundation, takes place on Monday 4 December at the Royal Albert Hall and will be attended by 4,000 industry figures and VIPs.

"We are excited to welcome the fashion world to London for the Awards in December, which will once again raise funds for the next generation of talent via the BFC’s Education Foundation. Young designers are the heartbeat of our business, and it is up to all of us to foster and champion their vision," said Nadja Swarovski.

The Fashion Awards were previously known as the British Fashion Awards but last year the format was revamped to include international talent and the fundraising aspect was introduced, along with the new location of the Royal Albert Hall.

Free NewsletterVISIT