Follow us


2020 International Woolmark Prize designer finalists revealed

Tom Bottomley
24 November 2021

Woolmark has today revealed the seven most promising emerging fashion design talents who have been selected as finalists for its prestigious 2022 International Woolmark Prize.

This year’s programme theme, called ‘Play’, will see Saul Nash and Ahluwalia from the UK, Jordan Dalah from Australia, EGONLAB from France, Peter Do from the USA, Rui from China and MMUSOMAXWELL from South Africa battle it out for the AU$200,000 winning prize to invest in the development of their business.

Another finalist will also have the chance to win The Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation, with the winner receiving AU$100,000.

Each finalist will receive a AU$60,000 grant for the development of a Merino wool collection for AW22 - highlighting transparency throughout their supply chain alongside partner Common Objective - and will be supported by the programme’s education and mentoring initiative, the Innovation Academy, which includes mentoring from industry leaders such as Holli Rogers, Chief Brand Officer at Farfetch and Sozzani Maino, Head of Vogue Talents.

The finalists, selected from hundreds of applications submitted in July 2021, are invited to experiment with textiles, design and business practices to “drive change and innovation for a brighter future”.

The Woolmark Company CEO, John Roberts, said: “We’re thrilled to introduce the next generation of creative game-changers to take part in the 2022 International Woolmark Prize. As the award continues to evolve, our aim is to support designers to think beyond today, highlighting the innovation, versatility and sustainability of Merino wool and showcase its basis for new technologies to meet the discerning needs of tomorrow’s customer.”

The winners will be selected by a panel of industry experts to be announced in April 2022, and all finalists will have the opportunity to be stocked at some of the world’s leading stores via the International Woolmark Prize Retailer Network.

This year’s finalists join revered alumni, including Karl Lagerfeld, Yves Saint Laurent, Ralph Lauren, Gabriela Hearst, Richard Malone, Angel Chen and, most recently, Matty Bovan.

Free NewsletterVISIT